or


[05/29/12 - 09:01 AM]
Anthony Bourdain, World-Renowned Chef, Author And Television Personality, Joins CNN/CNNI To Host New Weekend Program
Launching in early 2013, the show will be shot on location and will examine cultures from around the world through their food and dining and travel rituals.

[via press release from CNN]

Anthony Bourdain, World-Renowned Chef, Author And Television Personality, Joins CNN/CNNI To Host New Weekend Program

Launching in Early 2013 on CNN & CNNI, Program Expands CNN's Coverage of Food and Travel; Bourdain to Also Offer Commentary Across CNN Programs

NEW YORK, May 29, 2012 -- World-renowned chef, bestselling author and Emmy winning television personality Anthony Bourdain will join CNN as host of a new weekend program, creating a signature showcase for the network's coverage of food and travel. The announcement was made by CNN Worldwide Executive Vice President and Managing Editor, Mark Whitaker.

"For more than a decade, Anthony Bourdain has been a trailblazer in educating Americans about different cuisines and cultures around the world, as well as an outspoken commentator on social trends ranging from the rise of celebrity chefs to the impact of fast food chains to the spread of vegetarianism and veganism," said Whitaker. "Examining the world through the prism of Tony's unique expertise and passions continues CNN's long-standing commitment to international reporting and to promoting global understanding."

Launching in early 2013, the show will be shot on location and will examine cultures from around the world through their food and dining and travel rituals. Slated to air domestically on Sundays in prime time with repeat airings on Saturday nights, it will mark a further step in broadening and distinguishing CNN's weekend programming from its traditional weekday news coverage.

The series will be produced by Zero Point Zero Production with Executive Producers and Founders Chris Collins and Lydia Tenaglia, along with Executive Producer Sandy Zweig. The Emmy award winning Zero Point Zero Production has been working with Anthony Bourdain for over a decade, producing Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations, The Layover, A Cook's Tour, and Decoding Ferran Adria.

Bourdain, whose reporting has taken him from the culinary capitals of Europe, Asia and North and South America to such historically war-torn or isolated regions as Vietnam, Mozambique, Uzbekistan and Romania, will also offer commentary on other CNN programs and platforms, domestically and internationally, providing insights into current events and debates around food and health and other cultural conversations.

"I'm really looking forward to coming over to CNN. I think the world is going to get a whole lot bigger for me," said Bourdain. "I hope that old fans and new ones will be excited about what's coming down the road."

Bourdain has been the host of the award-winning Travel Channel series Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations since 2005. He previously hosted A Cook's Tour on the Food Network and has appeared on Bravo's competition series Top Chef and written for HBO's New Orleans-based drama Treme. He is also the author of critically acclaimed non-fiction and fiction books, including the New York Times bestsellers "Kitchen Confidential" and "A Cook's Tour." He now oversees his own line of books from Ecco, a division of HarperCollins, the first three of which are scheduled to be released in 2013.

Bourdain's many accolades include Emmy awards for programs on Haiti and Laos, and an Emmy nomination for an episode of Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations, which was shot in Beirut during the 2006 Lebanon War.





  [may 2012]  
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
  


· ANTHONY BOURDAIN: NO RESERVATIONS (TRAVEL)





[07/20/17 - 09:05 AM]
Hulu's Fall 2017 Programming Slate
The streaming service reveals premiere dates for "The Mindy Project," "Chance," "I Love You, America," "Freakish," "Future Man," "Marvel's Runaways," "East Los High," "Shut Eye" and more!

[07/20/17 - 08:30 AM]
E! Hits All the Right Notes with New Series "The Platinum Life"
Set to premiere this fall, the series follows an elite group of music's most savvy women and their significant others as they live their first-class lifestyles.

[07/20/17 - 08:27 AM]
Wednesday's Broadcast Ratings: CBS Takes Home Top Honors with "Big Brother"
The Eye's summer mainstay leads the night in both total viewers and adults 18-49.

[07/20/17 - 07:58 AM]
BBC America Debuts Three-Part Documentary "Wild West" Saturday, August 19, 9/8c
Welcome to America's Wild West: a picturesque land with a litany of characters including the shrewd coyote, the feisty hummingbird, the mighty blue whale and the spirited mustang.

[07/20/17 - 07:04 AM]
A&E Announces New Original Documentary "Guilty: The Conviction of O.J. Simpson" on the Day of His Parole Hearing
The two-hour special analyzes with new details and revelations the case that led to his conviction for armed robbery.

[07/20/17 - 06:12 AM]
Ryan Seacrest Returns to Host the Iconic "American Idol" on ABC
Seacrest had a long run with "Idol," having served as host for the franchise since its inception in 2002.

[07/19/17 - 02:30 PM]
Academy and Golden Globe Award Winner Forest Whitaker to Join "Empire"
Whitaker will play Uncle Eddie, a charismatic music icon and bonafide hitmaker, who gave an unknown Lucious (Terrence Howard) his first radio airplay.

[07/19/17 - 02:22 PM]
Join the Hunt for Clues to "American Horror Story 7" at Exclusive San Diego Comic-Con Stunt
This first step will open the door to all future reveals ahead of this fall's premiere of "AHS's" seventh installment.

[07/19/17 - 01:47 PM]
HBO Announces "Confederate," A New Drama Series Created by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss
Production will begin following the final season of "Game of Thrones."

[07/19/17 - 12:17 PM]
Ian Anthony Dale, Meaghan Rath and Beulah Koale Join the Cast of "Hawaii Five-0"
Dale has recurred as Adam Noshimuri since season two, becoming a trusted confidant and resource for the team who will now be recruited by McGarrett to work for Five-0.

[07/19/17 - 12:15 PM]
FOX Blasts Into San Diego Comic-Con 2017 with Nine Series
FOX launches one of the most cutting-edge fan opportunities ever: the chance to be cryopreserved and revived in the year 2417 to promote "The Orville."

[07/19/17 - 10:06 AM]
AMC Releases Art for Comic Con - "The Walking Dead" Returns October 22 with 100th Episode
AMC will also be present at MLK Park with a fan activation for fans of both "The Walking Dead" and "Fear the Walking Dead."

[07/19/17 - 09:24 AM]
Crackle's "The Oath" Adds Sarah Dumont, Billy Malone & Aaron Abrams to Cast
The series, set to debut in 2018, is currently in production in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

[07/19/17 - 09:03 AM]
A&E Network's Hit Series "Wahlburgers" Returns on Wednesday, August 9 at 9pm ET/PT
A&E Network will premiere a brand-new season of the hit reality series "Wahlburgers" as it celebrates its 75th episode milestone.

[07/19/17 - 08:52 AM]
Velocity's New Series "RMD Garage" Showcases the Dazzling Automotive Creations of Entrepreneur Ralph Holguin
The series launches Wednesday, August 2 at 9:00/8:00c on the cable channel.